you gotta work with what you got…

i’ve thought a lot about my last post and wondered how i ended up here. my best friend told me that few people could decide to {poof!} make all those changes at once and that i should, instead, pick one and then the rest would follow. so. i’ve decided to change my eating habits with a 10 day challenge from the self health revolution.

i know, i know…is this just another empty promise? who knows! but i’m going to try my darndest – i mean, 10 days should fly by, right? and given the fact that i work at whole foods, how hard can it be? that was really the sprout (haha) of this solution – i can’t change everything at once, so the best i can do is change what is within my reach. instead of longing for faraway goals, like the farm; i need to focus closer: my health, trying to find some balance, making time for joy…oh wait, the list is already getting long!

the way i figure it, if i’m eating better, i will have more energy. if i have more energy, i will get back to my punch bag. if i get back to my punch bag, i won’t be so stressed out. if i’m not so stressed out, i will have more mental space to be creative. makes total sense, no?

you would already be proud of me…we do something at whole foods that we call “team member appreciation”. the week is full of yummy free food and activities – yesterday was pizza day – but i was quite content with my organic salad (with sprouts, edamame and flax seeds)…go me!

i do have to say that just this shift in starting something doable completely changed my energy level. i walked a little straighter and with more purpose. my mind raced with dishes i could prepare to stay on track. sorry i missed my meatless monday post, but the next 10 days will probably be filled with salads and smoothies! makes for healthy eating, but maybe not the most engaging reading.

maybe i’ll just start a food journal to document my 10 day challenge…

monday:

  • bragg’s apple cider vinegar & honey water
  • matcha tea
  • banana & greek yogurt
  • wasa multigrain crackers for snacking
  • giant organic salad
  • bragg’s apple cider vinegar & honey water
  • brussel sprouts, tomato & garbanzo bean salad for dinner
  • probiotic & enzyme supplements
  • 3 joe-joes < okay, okay, i know, i know!

today:

  • bragg’s apple cider & honey water
  • matcha tea
  • kale, strawberry, blueberry & vegan protein smoothie
  • giant salad for lunch
  • wasa cracker snacks
  • today, we get our CSA box, so i’ll juice some of the veggies and see what surprises/inspirations are inside
  • no more joe-joes left, so i don’t need to worry about that temptation…i heard frozen fruits make a yummy snack!

wish me luck!

 

Enhanced by Zemanta

1 Comment

Filed under food, meatless mondays, modern living

One response to “you gotta work with what you got…

  1. Go Joyce! So happy to read this post! By changing what you eat, you will start a chain reaction of good in your life. Just like you said: when you eat better, you’ll have more energy. When you have more energy, you will get back to your punch bag. And congrats on passing up the pizza. That little choice should feel very empowering; it shows that you are in control of what you eat. Those little choices will add up to big change. I’m proud of you!

Leave a comment