it’s been a long time…

Image2011 was a tough year. life felt scattered and fuzzy and challenging and frustrating. friends faced major illnesses, financial upheaval, the loss of loved ones. we all had to let go of something – homes, jobs, a way of life. we scaled back and huddled together, wondering when the storm would pass. but through all the struggle, came a clarity – a realization of what truly matters – we gave an ear to listen, a shoulder to lean on, a hand to hold…stripped of all that we thought we knew, we were left with ourselves and each other. conversations became more meaningful, connections more genuine.

the approach of the end of the year usually brings loads of self-reflection. but this year, i feel i’ve been doing it every day. instead of writing here, i’ve been buried in my journal, trying to figure out what happened…but our financial implosion was caused by people i’ll never know and by a sense of greed and a disregard for others that i cannot comprehend. so all i can focus on is what i do know…i have an incredible circle of friends, an amazing and talented boyfriend and 2 dogs that bring me joy each and every day, i have my health, a creative mind and i work for a company i love. i feel things are coming back into focus. i feel a shift in the air and that 2012 won’t be as brutal as 2011 was. we’ve all become untethered from possessions and ways of thinking that were holding us back. and in that liberation, we must find a way to move forward. together.

i feel my life is more authentic now and to 2012, i say, “bring it!” … i’m ready.

4 Comments

Filed under modern living

4 responses to “it’s been a long time…

  1. Vic

    I read your blog almost as soon as I woke up this morning to check my email for any fires that need to be put out, and was pleasantly surprised to read such wonderful post.

    I walked Harley girl with the theme of your post in mind and it made me think about the absolute pleasure I take in the simple routine of walking my dog. It was a very cold morning for SoCal standards but no matter the weather or my own mood, your post made me realize how important the act of starting off my day with a leisurely walk with my best friend truly is to me.-

    “a realization of what truly matters – we gave an ear to listen, a shoulder to lean on, a hand to hold…stripped of all that we thought we knew, we were left with ourselves and each other. conversations became more meaningful, connections more genuine. ”

    I hope that we all continue to reevaluate what is truly important, not because we are forced to, but because we have become wiser. You asked me once if I thought “this was the new norm for us” I can only answer that questions by saying it might be, and if it is, it just might not be all that bad…

    • hey vic,

      thank you for the kind words. you truly have restructured your life and your priorities and i find you a better man because of it. i know the incredible love you have for miss harley and i know how much she has changed your life. parts of this “new norm” totally blow, but there are parts/lessons that i know i will carry with me once things reach a level of equilibrium again.

      j.

  2. No one gave me more of an ear to listen or a shoulder to cry on this year than you, my friend. Thank you for that and thank you for your beautiful post. The way you wrote it reflects the change in you and in your writing–both of which have always been awesome! But there’s a wisdom that does not require a lot of words– just a few well chosen and powerful ones. As hard as this year has been I believe the lessons have us standing here today wiser, stronger, and more awesome than ever! There will be a shift to better times in 2012 because we will create it!

Leave a Reply

