just in time for the holidays! “simple times: crafts for poor people” by amy sedaris…

marshmallow & toothpick “stars”

after the tremendous success of her brilliant entertaining guide, “i like you:  hospitality under the influence”, amy sedaris is back with her tribute to crafts and crafty people –simple times: crafts for poor people– complete with bonus video on the amazon page!

highlights from her interview in this morning’s l.a. times (besides the pearl of wisdom, “just figure it out or eyeball it”)…

on the creative process of writing a book:

Why did you decide to break it down into chapters such as “Craft Yourself Homely,” “Shut-Ins” and “Knowing Your Knack for Knickknacks”?

First, I thought I’d break it into seasons, then months, then I came up with the idea of crafting with whatever disability you have and the challenges you have to overcome. That turned out to be a big chapter. Then I wanted to get into nature crafts. I woke up one morning and thought, “I want to do crafting for Jesus because I love Bible crafts.” I started thinking like that, and then I stopped thinking when I had all the chapters.

on her history with crafts, selling potholders and receiving gifts:

Did you grow up making crafts, and do you make any now?

I made ashtrays in first grade, and we did lots of crafts in Girl Scouts and Junior Achievement. I made jewelry and those tissue flowers. I was a Girl Scout through my senior year in high school. I’d wear my uniform to school.

If I do a book signing, I’ll sell things I made. It takes me 20 minutes to make a potholder, and I’ve sold them for $5. This time I’ll sell them for $10 because it’ll come with a tag and I’ll sign it. It’s a lot of work.

I know I’m going to get crafts from people on this book tour like little knitted things. I usually spend time destroying them. I know that sounds awful, but I’ll rip them up and put them in different trash cans. I have to get rid of them.

and finally, what’s next?

What do you think you’ll tackle in your next book?

I think it’ll be something with interiors. I really love working with miniatures, so I might want to expand on that. You have to recuperate after writing a book, and I don’t have anything lined up. I feel so free and open to ideas, and I get inspired by everything. I love this feeling.

But it’s hard when someone says, “Let’s do a craft together,” because I hate crafts now. Everything’s in storage and I don’t want to have anything to do with them.

expect to see a lot of crappy crafty crafts in your xmas stocking this year! or a perusaltron (if i can afford it)…

“simple times: crafts for poor people” – on sale november 2nd!

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a comment

Filed under culture, entertaining, modern living

Leave a Reply

